On TV (well, SYS-CON TV)

With traditional print advertising revenues being challenged more and more by the Web, media companies are choosing between cost cutting and investing in better content. Under the leadership of group publisher Jeremy Geelan, Sys-Con is, despite their annoying pop-ups, one of the traditional print companies investing in new ways of attracting “readers.”
Last year while cutting through the Web Services Edge East exhibit hall on the way to deliver my session on SOA best practices (based on this article), I ran into Jeremy, who grabbed me for a quick, unrehearsed interview on his new TV show. I met Jeremy at the first Web Services Edge East conference back in 2002, and had appeared previously on Sys-Con “Radio” a couple of times (broadcast to the exhibit floor) but this was something new.
Can you tell that they told me to look at the camera and not at Jeremy? I was so intent on it that I forgot to look at Jeremy at all. I hope I didn’t make the same mistake last Friday, while taping two panels and a one-on-one for Sys-Con TV‘s new series out of the Reuters Studio in Times Square. You’ll have to let me know, after they come out, of course (I’ll post again when they become available).
The first panel was called “Thinking in Services” – which Jeremy said was inspired by my blog entry on the subject. It’s important to think about the design first, and the technology later. After all, SOA is more about a change in thinking than technology.
Studio0001.JPG
The “Thinking in Services” Panel Afterward – David Kershaw – Professional Services Manager, Professional & Education Services, Altova, Aaron White – Software Architect MindReef, me, and Paul Lipton – Senior Architect, Web Services and Application Management Team, CA.
Jeremy posed questions about services and SOA, and we ended up with a good, lively debate among the five of us. At one point Jeremy referred to me as a kind of “grandfather” of software. I think this was because of Aaron, who is 24 – close to my son’s age in fact. One thing clear is that the current generation of Web services tools are not very well geared to the new thinking. Products like Artix however provide a good foundation for an SOA since they focus on creating the standards based services layer you need to get started.
(Paul got the award for looking the best on TV, by the way.)
Before the taping we took turns getting made up during the live broadcast of the App Server Shootout, the big event of the day. This is certainly a tough and very competitive area of the market right now. One interesting thing this time was the introduction of price as a comparison factor.
At the end of the day I decided to wear my makeup all the way home to see if my wife would notice. She didn’t ;-). (But that is, at least what they told me, the mark of a good makeup job.)
Studio0002.JPG
The Makup Artist
After thinking in servces Jeremy invited me to join the taping of a panel called “Enterprise Open Source” since IONA is in the enterprise open source market with Celtix. We spent a good bit of time talking about the relationship of open source to commercial products, with the conclusion that the world is a “blended” one for now. Which is great for us, since unlike JBoss or EnterpriseDB, we can comprehensively support both the open source and commercial versions of our ESB.
Studio0003.JPG
The Enterprise Open Source Panel Getting Ready for Taping
Andy Astor, CEO and co-founder of Enterprise DB is on the left and Shaun Connolly, Vice President of Product Management, JBoss Inc. is on the right. Yakov Fain, a Sys-Con columnist, joined later. Jeremy is in front of the studio desk. The guy standing to the left is one of the studio technicians. Through the screens in back of the desk you can just make out the Times Square view.
And then it was time for the one-on-one. Jeremy kindly let me go first since he knew I had a plan to catch. A momentary delay while the makeup artist was summoned to apply some spray to some disoriented hair…
I hope this turns out to be the right kind of content for Sys-Con to invest in. Meaning that it is helpful, informative, and useful to the readers and viewers. All I know is that by the end of the one-on-one with Jeremy I could not believe that 7 minutes had flown by so quickly. And then I was in Times Square with my rollaboard, fighting the crowds for a taxi at rush hour amid the flash and hustle of one of the world’s busiest corners.

Comments are closed.