More Blog Thoughts

I spent a good portion of the weekend fixing a corrupt personal email file by copying the folders one by one to a new file until I discovered the entry that was causing the CRC redundancy check error – the same error that would halt my backup and freeze my entire system (I should probably file a problem report since freezing the system isn’t a very elegant way to handle an error that occurs while trying to copy a corrupt file).
While I waited for the copies to finish I poked around the ‘blogosphere.’ It’s amazing the stuff you come across. I read through all the recent entries and comments on Adam Bosworth’s blog, and followed some of the links to other blogs he posted. Adam’s blog is one that I really recommend, especially the transcript of his recent talk at ISCOC04 and all the commentary it fostered.
A lot of the discussion was around RDF and the Semantic Web, which I also think are not real technologies. To me the Semantic Web is an attempt at creating a document indexing system for the document management system that is known as the Web, nothing more or less.
I also poked around in Paul Downey’s blog for a while. I met Paul at the recent W3C policy workshop. And while he doesn’t blog much about his work, or the standards work he participates in, this one led me to the gaping void, which eventually led me to the cluetrain manifesto site — which kind of gets back to the reason for blogs in the first place.
I also decided to check some of the other blogs listed on the cluetrain site, and ended up at Dave Winer’s blog and from there at the Dawn and Drew show, which showed me what podcasting is all about. Dave’s entry for Saturday included a recording of the call he placed to Dawn and Drew.
I suppose videocasting will be the next thing, after we (all) get done personalizing the Web with blogs and podcasts…
I think there’s a lot to the Cluetrain that’s worth thinking long and hard about. The Web is changing geography, publishing, and markets. It is also changing how we communicate with each other, and how corporations communicate with individuals. I am a big believer in moving toward informal, honest, and open communications among colleagues and with customers. I am interested in the aspect of blogs that makes you put yourself out there and get reactions and comments – it’s not always pretty but it seems magical when it works.
I find myself moving from searching for news items to searching for blog entries. The formal style of journalism and academic articles seems to present obstacles to communication when compared to blogs and podcasts. But I wonder whether this will all get formalized, too.
Already you can see a wide variety of styles in blogging, from Dave Winer’s very journal-like approach (which others share in varying degrees) to a more occasional thoughtful posting like Adam Bosworth’s. And a lot of more or less official blogs, some on company sites (like ours is) and others on completely independent sites like Chris Ferris’s.
Saturday night I went to bed writing blog entries in my head, and practicing up for my podcasts….
And finally, I want to thank everyone very, very much for reading this blog, for posting comments when you do, and for mentioning to me that you do when I meet you in person. Let’s keep it all going!

One response to “More Blog Thoughts

  1. Hi Eric. Always glad to read your blog.